Features that are kept for backwards compatibility.
1. What are unloved features?
Unloved features include:
transplant (consider graft or rebase)
- "[defaults]" config section
- "[decode/encode]" config section
These features receive very little developer attention and are not considered appropriate for most users.
You should avoid making these features part of your workflow.
2. Why do these features exist? When will they be removed?
They were created because some developers thought they would be useful but have long since fallen out of common use by our developer community. Due to our compatibility rules, these features will continue to exist for the foreseeable future, but are unlikely to get more than basic maintenance.
3. See also